Name: Eric Marcotte

Racing Age: 37

Specialty: all-arounder / sprinter

Nationality: USA

Hometown: Marquette, MI

Residence: Scottsdale, AZ

Birthday: 2/8/1980

Height: 5’8”

Strengths: one day, attrition races

PRO Since: 2014

+ What inspired you to start bike riding/racing?

I wanted to do more for my overall health, and began aerobic training (running, swimming, biking). Once I entered a Bike race, that was it.

+ What inspires you every day to get on your bike?

My motivation to serve others with what i’ve been blessed with.

+ How do you use data for your training and racing?

I use it to monitor my fitness and fatigue levels; having marks to set and achieve in order to feel confident in race preparedness. Also numbers to know when to rest and recover.

+ What does technology bring into bike racing?

It brings an incredible amount of info that we can change overall health with.

+ Did you like math and science in school?

science more than math.

+ If you have a college degree, (or currently in the process) what is it in?

B.S. in Exercise Science and Doctor Of Chiropractic

+ If you could do one thing with AI (artificial intelligence) besides fight malware, what would it be?

To help set up the future more sustainable

+ If you weren’t bike racing, what would you be doing?

Dr. of Chiropractic, videographer/photographer, some type of endurance athlete

+ What are your favorite pastimes and hobbies outside of bikes?

All things endurance (ski, run, hike, swim etc); photography; drawing

+ What is your most memorable day on the bike?

so many. One with my brother riding in Maui the Haleakala climb. National Championships. Pan Am Games. World Championships.

+ What is the most embarrassing thing that has happened to you on a bike?

Crashing at Worlds

+ What is your favorite pre-race or post-race meal?

Post Race - Kombucha

+ What is one piece of advice you would give to another up and coming cyclist or fan?

Be the best that you can be, and show up fully. Someone else being successful, is not your failure.

+ Favorite songs or playlist to listen to while training or warming up?

Techno sets from specific artists in Italy, germany, and sweden

+ When you think of your happy place, where is that?

outdoors anywhere

+ What is your favorite race and why?

Any one day race. It’s all in for that day.