Name:  Bryan Lewis

Racing Age:  27

Specialty:  TT/one day

Nationality:  American

Hometown:  Roanoke, VA

Residence:  Charlottesville, VA

Birthday:  August 31, 1990

Height:  5’11”

Strengths:  TT, hard punchy races

PRO Since: 2016

+ What inspired you to start bike riding/racing?

I rode with my Dad growing up, it was one of our activities. In July we always watched the Tour together and then as I grew older friends and I stomped around the woods on mountain bike bikes and downtown and dirt jump bikes. I didn’t start road riding until after college.

+ What inspires you every day to get on your bike? The opportunity to explore new roads and see the beauty of the world.

+ What does inspire to achieve mean to you now?

Inspire to achieve means the ability to dream and succeed. If you aren’t first inspired to achieve something great you will never be able to get there. The idea of success comes before the success. Dream big.

+ How do you use data for your training and racing?

I use data to track progress week over week and year over year but also (and more importantly) to ensure proper and full recovery. Proper recovery is key to ensuring progress continues on an upward trend.

+ What does technology bring into bike racing?

Technology is everywhere in bike racing making it easier for us fighting for the win. The two biggest effects of technology are radios that allow racers to talk to team directors and GPS units that keep racers informed on distance to go and key metrics of our current and overall effort for the day.

+ Did you like math and science in school?

Yes, definitely a math/science guy. I could knock out math homework in 20 minutes, but a creative writing paper would take me weeks.

+ If you have a college degree, (or currently in the process) what is it in?

Undergrad: Physics and Economics, Masters: Systems Engineering. Both at the University of Virginia.

+ If you could do one thing with AI (artificial intelligence) besides fight malware, what would it be?

I would love to see self-driving cars become a reality.

+ What is your super power?

Staying healthy, consistent, and recovering hard

+ If you weren’t bike racing, what would you be doing?

I would be working somewhere as an engineer, possibly in defense, with a software as a service company, or some other field. Outside of work I’d be riding, running, rock climbing, skiing, wakeboarding, hiking, camping, and exploring the world.

+ What are your favorite pastimes and hobbies outside of bikes?

I love to cook and be outside exploring the world.

+ What is your most memorable day on the bike?

In 2015 I won stage 3 on App Gap at the Green Mountain Stage Race. The win was only somewhat memorable, but the team that got me there and the total domination made the day special. We put two in the break and they were the last two brought back with 15km to go. Three other guys guided me into the final climb and then the celebration on top of the mountain were memories that I will hold onto forever from the tightest group of friends and teammates I’ve had to date.

+ What is the most embarrassing thing that has happened to you on a bike?

In college I had this single speed commuter that was beat up pretty bad. The chain needed to be tightened but I kept putting it off even though I got a bad pop every so often. I was turning left at a stop light riding as hard as I could to stay on a car’s bumper, the “pop” happened and the lack of tension on the pedals through me over the front and flat on my face in the middle of the intersection. I got up and told the lady in a car I was totally fine, after pulling my hand away there was blood all over it, I had bitten through my upper lip. Oops.

+ What is your favorite pre-race or post-race meal?

I love waffles w/ strawberries, but limit them a little during races. My seigneur last year always had a little salad w/ nuts and fruit post race. Weird, but I loved it, always cool and refreshing.

+ Who is your hero?

I’ve always been really close with my Dad and look up to his work ethic, ability to engage people in conversation, and how he treats the people around him.

+ What is one piece of advice you would give to another up and coming cyclist or fan?

To upcoming cyclist, you’re not recovering enough. Better to be over-rested than over-trained.

+ What is something “if you would have known then what you known now”?

Relax and go with the flow. I ran in college and was so uptight about everything, nutrition, sleep, training, etc. It always had to be perfect. Now I am able to let little hiccups roll off my shoulder, I’m happier, more relaxed, and the body usually responds really well to that decreased stress.

+ Favorite songs or playlist to listen to while training or warming up?

I love music, but rarely listen it to it while training or warming up. Instead I listen to Podcast, usually a show that teaches me something or expands my horizons. I can do intense 5 minute intervals full gas while listening to someone share a story or how something works. It really helps the miles tick by and keep my brain engaged.

+ When you think of your happy place, where is that?

Park City, Utah. Early in the morning, solo on the trails high up in the mountains as the sun slowly begins to fill the valley.

+ What is your vice?

Cookies and waffles.

+ What is your favorite race and why?

Tour of Utah. My parents met and married in Park City and grandparents retired there and owned a home until 2005. I’ve been visiting Park City every year since I was born and have a lot of history there. Riding past the field my parents were married in atop Guardsman Pass was a special moment for me.